A reminder that current property taxes unpaid after July 2, 2020 will be subject to a 10% penalty. Unpaid 2020 Property Taxes will start to accrue interest as of January 1st, 2021. Also, a reminder that December 31st, 2020 is the deadline to claim a retroactive Home Owner Grant for 2019. For options on paying your taxes see this page.

Property Taxation is the most important single source of municipal revenue. Provincial legislation sets out very detailed regulation of municipal taxation. The amount of money to be raised through property taxes and the tax rates are set by Council, but the tax rates of the other agencies are determined by the relevant taxing agencies. For information on payment of property taxes CLICK HERE.

The District of Sooke collects taxes for both the municipality and a number of other governing bodies. Of the total property tax you pay, only 45% is applied directly to municipal services. The balance is collected on behalf of, and transferred to other taxing authorities. Included in the municipal portion of your taxes are services such as the Vancouver Regional Library Services and protective services including the RCMP and fire protection.

Each year, property tax notices will be mailed in late May or early June. If you have not received your property tax notice, please contact the Finance Department at 250-642-1634 before the due date; it is the responsibility of the property owner to pay property taxes by the due date in order to avoid a penalty, whether or not a bill was received. New owners who have not received a property tax notice are advised to contact the Finance Department.

2020 Tax Rates

2019 Tax Rates

2018 Tax Rates

2017 Tax Rates

2016 Tax Rates

Each year a council decides how much money it must raise through property taxes. This, together with the assessed value of the taxable property, determines the tax rate. Tax rates are expressed in “dollars per thousand”.

The value of property for tax purposes is determined by the BC Assessment Authority, which is established under Provincial legislation and is independent of the District of Sooke. Municipalities are not involved in determining assessed values. You can look-up your property assessment here.

School Taxes
The District of Sooke acts as the collection agency for school taxes. School taxes are paid to the Provincial government. The District of Sooke must pay the Province, even if the property owners do not pay their taxes. Municipalities have no control over the school tax rates. School tax rates are set by the Provincial government.