

DISTRICT OF SOOKE NOTICE OF ELECTION BY VOTING And NOTICE OF ASSENT VOTING

PUBLIC NOTICE is hereby given to the electors of the District of Sooke that an Election By Voting is necessary to elect, for a four year term commencing December 2014 and terminating after the 2018 general local election (in accordance with the *Local Government Act*), one Mayor and six Councillors to fill the offices of Mayor and Councillors on the Council of the District of Sooke. The persons nominated as candidates at the Election By Voting and for whom the votes will be received are listed below:

Office of Mayor – one (1) to be elected.

The candidates for the office of Mayor are:

Herb HALDANE*, 3118C Otter Point Road, Sooke, British Columbia David SHEBIB, 5090 West Saanich Road, Victoria, British Columbia Maja TAIT*, 2434 Driftwood Drive, Sooke, British Columbia

Office(s) of Councillor - six (6) to be elected.

The candidates for the offices of Councillor are:

Jeff BATEMAN, 7083 Briarwood Place, Sooke, British Columbia Bev BERGER*, 6853 Grant Road, Sooke, British Columbia Justin HANSON, 2406 Poplar Drive, Sooke, British Columbia Ebony LOGINS, 6495 Riverstone Drive, Sooke, British Columbia Rick KASPER*, 2103 Mowich Drive, Sooke, British Columbia Kevin PEARSON*, 1930 Maple Avenue, Sooke, British Columbia Kel PHAIR, 1585 Dufour Road, Sooke, British Columbia Brenda PARKINSON, 1608 Harmonys Place, Sooke, British Columbia Kerrie REAY*, 2380 DeMamiel Drive, Sooke, British Columbia Mark WHITESON, 6845 Beaton Road, Sooke, British Columbia

*Incumbent Councillor

ASSENT VOTING

PUBLIC NOTICE is further given to the electors in the District of Sooke, that assent voting will be held on the following questions:

Would you support the District of Sooke working with the community to develop multi-use community centre facilities? YES or NO"

"Should the District of Sooke join other municipalities in renewing and restating its opposition to the expansion of oil tanker traffic through Coastal BC waters? YES or NO"

VOTING DATES AND LOCATIONS

ADVANCE VOTING: WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 5, 2014 and

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 12, 2014

8:00 am to 8:00 pm SOOKE COMMUNITY HALL 2037 Shields Road, Sooke, BC

GENERAL VOTING: SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2014

8:00 am to 8:00 pm EDWARD MILNE COMMUNITY SCHOOL

6218 Sooke Road, Sooke, BC

ELECTOR REGISTRATION

IMPORTANT NOTICE: To be a Qualified Elector in a local government election, a person must meet the following requirements:

Be age 18 or older on the day of voting

- Be a resident elector or non-resident property elector at the time of voting;
- Not be disqualified by the Local Government Act or any other Act; and
- Be registered as an elector of the District of Sooke.

A person cannot vote if they are incarcerated. A person is disqualified as an elector if that person falls under any of the categories outlined in section 49.(2) of the Local Government Act. No corporation is entitled to be registered as an elector or have a representative registered as an elector and no corporation is entitled to a vote. A person must not vote in a local government election unless entitled to do so.

If you are not on the list of electors, you may register at the time of voting by completing the required application form available at the voting place.

To register you must meet the following qualifications:

- 18 years of age or older on general voting day
- Canadian citizen
- resident of BC for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration
- resident of OR registered owner of real property in the District of Sooke for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration, and

• not disqualified under the Local Government Act or any other enactment from voting in the assent voting and not otherwise disqualified by law.

In order to register, resident electors must produce 2 pieces of identification (at least one with a signature). Picture identification is not necessary. The identification fication must prove both residency and identity.

In order to register, non-resident property electors must produce 2 pieces of identification (at least one with a signature) to prove identity, proof that they are entitled to register in relation to the property, and, if there is more than one owner, written consent from the majority of property owners to one owner registering.

MAIL BALLOT VOTING

Qualified electors may vote by mail if they:

- · have a physical disability, illness or injury that affects their ability to vote at another voting opportunity, OR
- expect to be absent from the District of Sooke on general voting day and at the times of all advance voting opportunities.

To request a mail ballot, no earlier than October 26, 2014 and before 4 pm on November 13, 2014, you must submit the following information to the District of Sooke municipal office by mail (2205 Otter Point Road, Sooke, BC V9X 1J2), telephone (250-642-1620), fax (250-642-0541) or email (2014Election@sooke.ca):

- (1) Full name.
- Residential address.
- Address of the property in relation to which you are voting (for non-resident property electors),
- Method of delivery of your mail ballot package:
 - (a) pick up at municipal office, OR
 - (b) regular letter mail through Canada Post to residential address, OR
- (c) regular letter mail through Canada Post to an alternate address that you provide when requesting the ballot package,
 (5) If you are not on the list of electors, to ensure you receive the correct registration application form in your package, you must indicate whether you are going to be registering as a resident or non-resident property elector.

The District of Sooke will send out mail ballot packages commencing on or about October 27, 2014. To be counted, your mail ballot must be received by the Chief

Election Officer no later than 8 pm on Saturday, November 15, 2014. For further information on the bylaws or the voting process, please contact the Chief Election Officer at 250-472-0059 or the Deputy Chief Election Officer at

250-642-1620 or by email 2014Election@sooke.ca.

Given under my hand at Victoria, B.C. this 22nd day of October, 2014. Thomas F. Moore

Chief Election Officer