District recognizes seven employees for service awards

Monday, December 14, 2020 – The Service Awards program celebrates and commemorates the long-term commitment and loyalty of District of Sooke employees.

Sooke Council, along with the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Norm McInnis, recognizes seven team members for their dedication, knowledge sharing and support in helping the District work towards its vision as an inclusive, healthy and self-sufficient community where the rainforest meets the sea:

  • Susan Dyble, Planning and Development Administrator, for 20 years
  • Matt Barney, Deputy Fire Chief, for 15 years
  • Deborah Knight, Senior Financial Services Assistant, for 15 years
  • Chris McCrea, Captain – Sooke Fire Department, for 10 years
  • Cam Norris-Jones, Captain – Sooke Fire Department, for 10 years
  • Brad Metzger, Building Official II, for 10 years
  • Brian Derrick, Engineering Technologist II, for 5 years

CAO Norm McInnis shares, “I am proud of our dedicated staff who are making significant contributions to our growing community. Their commitment to the organization and wealth of knowledge is an asset to the District. I am grateful to have the opportunity to recognize these milestones in their service.”

“Sooke is a relatively young community with its incorporation on December 7, 1999 so having members of our team who have chosen to spend their careers with us is a real compliment to the community,” reflects Mayor Maja Tait. “On behalf of the District of Sooke Council, it is my honour to recognize Susan, Matt, Deborah, Chris, Cam, Brad and Brian for their service to the District. Your hard work and efforts year after year are making a difference in our community.”

The District of Sooke Service Awards recognizes extended periods of service at employees’ 5-year anniversaries. The Awards are typically presented by the Mayor at a Regular Council Meeting. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the 2020 awards will be presented individually, outside of the municipal hall by the Chief Administrative Officer.

Media Contact:
Christina Moog, Communications Coordinator
Tel: 250.642.1634, ext. 678
Email: cmoog@sooke.ca

Norm McInnis, CAO recognizes Susan Dyble’s 20 years of service outside the District of Sooke Municipal Hall: